Winneshiek Energy District

Energy Breakfast

Winneshiek Energy District's monthly energy breakfast is currently held at 7:30 am, the third Tuesday of each month at Tbocks lower level.

Please register in the form below simply so we and Tbocks have a sense of how many participants to expect. We encourage you to have breakfast while there, but that is entirely at your discretion.

Tuesday January 17th, 2017: CANCELLED Due to Weather

This month Larry Grimstad and Winneshiek Energy District Director Andy Johnson will speak on Three Critical Issues Regarding Solar In Our Community in 2017:
1) "Winneshiek Shared Solar" - This community solar project had a feasibility study done and then went off the radar. What happened? Will the project resurface?

2)  Net Metering - What's the status? Is it around for good?

3) Iowa Solar Tax Credits - Are they on the legislative chopping block?

Bring your questions. We'll have a discussion after the presentation.

Want a taste of what you might have missed? Past energy breakfasts include

December 2016: Sam Pollan  share about his experience attending this year’s United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change held in Marrakech, Morocco. 

October 2016: Gary Mineart shares about satelite technology's role in climate science. 

September 2016: Our annual policy breakfast, featuring a candidate forum on energy policy with State Senator Michael Breitbach, State Senate Candidate Jan Heikes, and State Representative Candidate Micheal Bergan.

August 2016: Revisiting Decorah's first community-wide sustainability plan from 2010, including eergy accomplishments ... and opportunities!

July 2016: Net metering policy update and discussion, and discussion on solar PPA opportunities for the City of Decorah given Cresco's recent solar PPA completion

June 2016: Hawkeye Rural Electric Cooperative CEO Brian Krambeer updated the group on their merger with TriCounty REC, discussed distributed generation and related issues, and took questions.

May 2016: We discussed the current proposals Alliant Energy and MidAmerican Energy have presented to the Iowa Utilities Board to replace net metering, what they mean for current and future solar owners, and what we can do about it.

April 2016: Local panel discussion on Electric Vehicle Public Charging Infrastructure plans, and other aspects of the electric vehicle opportunities.

March 2016: Iowa Environmental Council's Nathaniel Baer, Luther College's Jim Martin-Schramm, and the Energy District's Andy Johnson will discussed current Iowa energy and solar policy challenges and opportunities.

February 2016: Kamyar Enshayan, Director of the Center for Energy and Environmental Education at UNI, presented the "Simple Solar" community solar garden under development by Cedar Falls Utilities. (youtube part 1, and part 2)

January 2016: City of Bloomfield Energy Efficiency Director Chris Ball and colleagues presented Bloomfields recent path towards an energy independence goal, and steps under consideration to get there. (youtube part 1, and part 2)

December 2015: Sam Pollan from Luther College's Center for Sustainable Communities brought the Paris Climate Change talks home to Decorah, after attending the international conference that reached a landmark global agreement on 12-12-15

November 2015: Iowa State Senator Joe Bolkcom (Iowa City) previewed energy efficiency and renewable energy issues and opportunities for the coming legislative session

October 2015: Johnson County Supervisor Mike Carberry explained Johnson County's road to solar, and the challenges and opportunities for local governments using third party power purchase agreements

September 2015: State Senator Michael Breitbach joined us to discuss energy efficiency, renewable energy, and the coming legislative session.

August 2015: Luther College President Paula Carlson and Professor Jim Martin-Schramm discussed the College's energy efficiency and renewable energy accopmplishments and plans, community leadership, and state policy

July 2015: Stephanie Enloe, Energy and Climate Organizer with Center for Rural Affairs based in Dyersville, discussed transmission issues and rural electric cooperative opportunities

June 2015: David Ruffcorn, Energy Code Specialist withe State Fire Marshall's Office, discussed Iowa energy code for buildings

May 2015: Jason Marcell and Marnie Stein, Iowa DNR Air Quality Bureau staff in charge of developing Iowa's Clean Power Plan

April 2015: Professor Laura Peterson of Luther College, presenting her research on climate change

March 2015: Nathaniel Baer of the Iowa Environmental Council, updating us on Iowa Legislative action (and inaction) on renewable energy